In July 2021, we challenged the world to reimagine what drawing could be. We were astounded with how creatives rose up to this challenge, and how they transported us to new worlds of art that we never imagined possible. We cherish most the community of artists that found us and the support they provided to us as well as each other.

The most difficult aspect of the challenge was selecting from the thousands of submissions 18 winning entries. The decision was made by 11 external reviewers in multiple rounds. Uniformly, every judge saw new ground being broken in terms of what digital drawings could be and how they might be experienced. Every submission pushed the boundaries of digital drawing. They took us on journeys through imaginative worlds and immersed us in engaging stories. It was a time-consuming and difficult decision, but these 18 entries stood out in terms of impact, innovation, and mastery of the tool.

Thank you to the fantastic judging panel and everyone who participated in the Reimagine Drawing Challenge. Together, you've redefined what drawing can be when it is freed from the limitations of a single canvas. We can't wait to see what you'll create next.

Line drawing of 3 people using different devices: laptop, large drawing tablet, small tablet

A Thank You To Our Community

As a thank you gift to everyone who participated in the Reimagine Drawing Challenge, we have created a new version of Mental Canvas for Creators. This "Creator" version removes watermarks from videos, provides full access to all software features, and allows for one public interactive web scene with no recurring costs. This version will be available as a one-time $30 purchase until April 1st.

Thank you to Our Judges

Thank you to our fantastic panel of judges. Each judge has experience using Mental Canvas and brings a unique perspective and background. We appreciate their fair and thoughtful evaluation process. Every entry was carefully considered.

Andre Wojaczek
Carol Hsiung
Bob Eckstein
Kamila Stankiewicz
Min Kim
Sam Nassour
Veronica Lawlor
Rina Piccolo
Johannes DeYoung
Dylan Brady
Jerome Tryon